Event Klosters

Klosters Music – Pause

Musical journey through time at the founding place of Klosters.


CHF 120.00 | 80.00 | 45.00
Duration: 110 min, incl. intermission
Evang.-ref. Church of St. Jacob

Maurice Steger likes to wander into past times and finds undiscovered treasures along the way. His journey at Klosters Music spans over 400 years of music history. Mystical sounds from Montserrat Abbey lead through the splendour of the Renaissance to sensual, baroque musical worlds, as in George Frideric Handel's Concerto for Organ and Strings "The Cuckoo and the Nightingale", which will unfold a special charm on the historic Köberle organ.

The internationally acclaimed artist from Landquart is not only a master of the recorder, but also provides gripping musical experiences as a conductor. With the soprano Nuria Rial, he has a partner at eye level at his side, who with her bell-bright voice enters into dialogue with the fine recorder sound of the Swiss. The La Cetra Baroque Orchestra from Basel, conducted by Steger, also supports him as a proven communication partner and expressive amplifier.

Maurice Steger, Recorder & Direction
Nuria Rial, soprano
La Cetra Baroque Orchestra Basel

O virgo splendens (from the Llibre vermell de Montserrat, c. 1399)

Marco Uccellini (1603–1680)
Sinfonia XVII «La Stucharda» per poter sonare a due, a tre, a quattro conferme piacerà

Salomone Rossi (1570–1630)
Sinfonia XI «in echo» a tre voci

Marco Uccellini (1603–1680)
Sinfonia XIV «La Foschina» – Aria con diminuzioni per poter sonare a due, a tre, a quattro conferme piacerà

Claudio Monteverdi (1567–1643)
Damigella tutta bella, SV 235 (from: Scherzi Musicali) Madrigal per soprano e strumenti

Tarquinio Merula (1595-1665)
Canzon «La Pighetta» a 2. canto e violone
Aria «Folle è ben chi si crede» (from Curtio precipitato et altri capricii) per soprano e strumenti
«Chiaccona» a due violini, e a 3 col Violone

Alessandro Scarlatti (1660–1725)
Aria «Più non m'alletta e piace» (from the opera «Il giardino d'amore») for soprano, flautino, strings and basso continuo

Domenico Sarro (1679-1744)
Concerto XI for recorder in A minor for recorder, strings and basso continuo

George Frideric Handel (1685–1759)
Cavatina «Se d'un dio fui fatta madre», HWV 234 (from: «Il pianto di Maria»)
Organ Concerto No. 13 in F major, HWV 295 «Der Kuckuck und die Nachtigall» for organ, strings and basso continuo
Cantata «Tra le fiamme», HWV 170 for soprano, recorders, oboes, violins, viola da gamba and basso continuo


Responsible for this content Klosters Music.
This content has been translated automatically.

Guidle Logo

This website uses content from Guidle.